Oregon Motorized and Non-motorized Device Reference Guide..

Oregon Motorizeu anu Mon-motorizeu Device Kererence Guiue															
Description	Min. Age	License	Registration	Insurance	Helmet	Passenger	Lights	Max Capable Speed	Max Allowed Speed	Ride on Sidewalk	Ride on Bike Path/Lane	Ride in crosswalk	Arrest DUII	Read Implied Consent	
Electric Scooter Gas Scooter	16	No	No	No	Yes Bike	No	Yes at night	24 Mph	15 Mph	No	Yes	No	Yes	Yes	
Electric – <u>Max Power 1000 watts output</u> Gas – <u>Under 35.01cc's</u> . Both cannot operate faster than 24 mph. If an electric or gas scooter exceeds either the maximum allowed speed, maximum capable speed or engine size, it is classified as a moped or motorcycle and must meet all of the requirements of that classification.															
Pocket Bike Mini Motorcycle	* See Below	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes DOT	No	Yes	24+ Mph	Cannot drive on roadways	No	No	No	Yes	Yes	
<u>Drive on Private Property Only</u> Cannot be operated on roads/highways or premises open to the public. These are off-road use only vehicles. These are <u>NOT</u> motor assisted scooters since the engine is more than 35.01 ccs and faster than 24mph. These are considered a moped or motorcycle due to cc size and do not meet standards set by The Department of Transportation. Must have a license to operate. If license is suspended or no insurance, cite and tow the bike. These also require insurance and a registration to operate. *Although pocket bikes may not be ridden on roadways or premise open to the public, anyone riding them can still be cited for any violation of license, registration or insurance.															
Moped	16	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes DOT	No	Yes	30 Mph		No	Only under human power	No	Yes	Yes	
Operation of this is the same as a motorcycle. Engine size is limited to 35.01 to 50 ccs. Any moped equipped with a power source, <u>EXCEPT electric assisted bike or a motor assisted scooter</u> designed to travel w/no more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground, has an independent power source capable of unassisted speed not more than 30mph on level surface. It is equipped with a power drive system that functions directly or automatically only and does not require clutching or shifting by the operator after the system is engaged. Requires a driver's license (<i>but not a motorcycle endorsement</i>), registration and insurance to operate on public roadways and premises open to the public. If a moped exceeds either maximum capable speed or engine size, it would be classified as a motorcycle and then must meet all of the requirements of that classification. Tow for DWS / No insurance.															
Electric Personal Assistive Mobility Device	16	No	No	No	No	No	Yes at night	15 Mph		Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	No	
Can operate in bicycle lanes and paths, sidewalks and highways with speed limits of 35 mph or less. Electric personal assistive mobility device is self-balancing on two non-tandem wheels. It's designed to transport 1 person in standing position. Has an electric propulsion system with a maximum speed of 15mph. Unlike bicyclists, operators of these scooters must be at least 16 years old, and the new law creates the offense of operating such a vehicle in an unsafe manner.															
Electric Assisted Bike	16	No	No	No	Yes Bike	Restricted	Yes at night	20 Mph		No	Yes	Yes	Yes	No	
Treat as a bicycle per ORS 814.405 An electric assisted bicycle shall be considered a bicycle, rather than a motor vehicle, for purposes of the Oregon Vehicle Code, except when otherwise specifically provided by statute. The same rules apply to this bicycle as do a "normal" bicycle. These are considered a VEHICLE. Electric assisted bike has both fully operative pedals for human propulsion and electric motor w/power output not more than 1,000 watts. Max speed no more than 20mph on level ground.															
Bicycle	-	No	No	No	Under 16	Restricted	Yes at night			Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	No	
A bicycle is considered a vehicle	e and m	nust the op	perator mus	t obey the	rules of	the road.	Appro	ved lighti	ng must k	be used w	hen opera	ting unde	r limited	visibility.	
Skateboard / Skate Scooter		No	No	No	Under 16	No	No			Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	No	
Roller / In-line Skates		No	No	No	Under 16	No	No			Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	No	GDN 30866 092004

*If the operators privileges to drive is suspended or they are under 16 years of age, they cannot legally operate ANY motor vehicle on roadway or premises open to the public. <u>A motor assisted scooter is a motor vehicle</u> although it is not required to be registered or insured under Oregon Law.